How can you propose an idea without being ripped off?

Discussion in 'La Institución Mental' started by erlymorninstndpmp, Nov 29, 2005.

1. erlymorninstndpmp

erlymorninstndpmp New Member

For example, I have an idea that would make shopping so much easier. I think itd be fairly easy to set up my idea and would be very profitable. Now how do I go about proposing this idea to a company, lets say Wal-mart, without my idea getting ripped off and me being left out of the loop ???

I have had ideas like this before and never done anything about them. I am not an engineer or designer or anything, just an average guy with a good product idea. For instance, a few years back I had an idea and talked about it with my dad. We thought about why itd work and why itd fail. Low and behold two months later in a popular Mechanics magazine was basically the same thing I pictured in my mind. It was an engine designed without a camshaft. The article was very similar to what I pictured although obviously well thought out and designed... Again I miss my millions !! lol
  2. jdv

jdv the polarbear conservation corps protects a pol Staff Member

I dont know, there's not many legal options to protect "idea's"
  3. Faaip de Oiad

Faaip de Oiad Van Damme stole my appendix.

You have to look into patenting an idea. I'd either consult a lawyer, or try one of those 1-800-uinvent type places. Just to see what they have to say.
  4. rbohm

rbohm New Member

put your idea down on paper, and have that paper copywrited. that way you have a date when the idea originated. if the idea includes something that needs manufacturing, then get a patent on that part of the idea, again so you have something that has a date that is filed with a government office. once you have that done, then propose your idea, include the copyright and patent numbers, to what even corporation you choose.
  5. jdv